Guides: Theater & Performance Studies: Images, Multimedia + Costume & Stage Design

Costume

Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
Call Number: GT507 .E54 2010
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Online and print GT507 .E53 2005
Unbuttoned: the Art and Artists of Theatrical Costume Design Unbuttoned: The Art and Artists of Theatrical Costume Design　documents the creative journey of costume creation from concept to performance. Each chapter provides an overview of the process, including designing and shopping; draping, cutting, dyeing, and painting; and beading, sewing, and creating embellishments and accessories. This book features interviews with practitioners from Broadway and regional theatres to opera and ballet companies, offering valuable insights into the costume design profession. Exceptional behind-the-scenes photography illustrates top costume designers and craftspeople at work, along with gorgeous costumes in progress.
Call Number: Online and in print: PN2067 .P65 2017

Fashion History Timeline "The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history. Started as a pilot project by Fashion Institute of Technology art history faculty and students in the Fall of 2015, the Timeline aims to be an important contribution to public knowledge of the history of fashion and to serve as a constantly growing and evolving resource not only for students and faculty, but also for the wider world of those interested in fashion and dress history–from the Renaissance scholar to the simply curious."
Costume & Fashion History: A Guide to Resources (NY Public Library)
List books and websites on costumes and fashion. Check GEORGE, the GU library catalog, to see what's available here.
Costume Society of America

Production

Theatrecrafts: Entertainment Technology Resources
Resources on all aspects of theatrical production including costume, lighting, props, stage design, and sound. Glossary of technical theater terms.

Prop Agenda
Information about making or finding props.

An Introduction to Theatre Design (e-book)

Theatre Craft: A Director's Practical Companion from A-Z (book)

Ghost Light: An Introductory Handbook for Dramaturgy (e-book)

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Images may be viewed live in ARTstor or offline in ARTstor's downloadable image viewer.

Flickr Commons
Photographs from cultural institutions without copyright restrictions.
Google Images
Sort images by size and license rights.
New York Public Library Digital Image Collection
Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of The Library, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.
Theatre & Performance Collections of the Victoria & Albert Museum
The Victoria & Albert Museum is a museum of art and design in London. Search images of posters, props, costumes, sketches, set models, and other objects related to the performing arts.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 8 concurrent users.
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Multimedia

Media Collection at GU Library
Use the Media Finder to locate film or video available through the Library.

Kanopy Film & Media This link opens in a new window
This curated collection of streaming films from Kanopy's "Film & Media Collection" includes documentaries, foreign films, and many classic movies. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, and the Media Education Foundation. Films are streamed through a "Netflix-like" website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
20,000 streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. Collections include Humanities & Social Sciences and Archival Films & Newsreels.

Gelardin New Media Center Resources

The Gelardin New Media Center, located on the first floor of Lauinger Library, provides software, equipment, and spaces for producing multimedia projects. An experienced staff is available to help connect you with the knowledge and tools that you need. All equipment and media resources are free to use for Georgetown students, staff, and faculty.

Maker Hub

The Maker Hub is located on Lauinger's first floor. Open to all students and faculty, the Maker Hub is a creative space connecting Georgetown researchers, makers and entrepreneurs from across campus with specialized equipment and a collaborative atmosphere to design, solve problems, experiment and innovate.