This is the "Home" page of the "STRT 265: Business and Government Relations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

STRT 265: Business and Government Relations  

Professor: Dennis Quinn
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.georgetown.edu/STRT265 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Project

From Prof Quinn:

"I will ask you to choose a regulatory, legislative, international organizational, or judicial issue, here or abroad, to track for the semester.  Please send me a paragraph note by the 2nd  with the topic and some notes about the background.   This will give me a chance to respond if I have concerns.

Here are a few guidelines for the final paper.  I will want a five-page paper, of no more than 1200 words of text (word count please).  Please provide an overview of the legislative, executive branch, or court activity in the area of your research, with your analysis of what political economic forces are at work.  Please make a forecast about the likely outcome of the events.  When relevant, I expect you to use class readings as part of your analysis.  Remember to tell me/us what political and economic forces are at work!; who the parties at interest are!; what laws are relevant!

In all cases, please use standard bibliographic practices.  You may use either point cites (e.g., Jones 1995, p. 17) or footnotes.  Full bibliographic entries are required in the reference section, which need not count toward the page limit.  Charts, tables, graphs, and so forth are welcome, and are to be included as part of the page limit.

The final results of the paper will be presented to your classmates in class..  Please do not miss the presentations of your colleagues.  An “initial” presentation of your topics and question – one minute each!".

General magazines

  • Proquest Research Library
    Provides indexing, abstracting, and many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general-interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics and sources.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

GovTrack.us

  • Govtrack.us
    Govtrack is an open-source project that tracks legislation, using Web 2.0 technology to deliver RSS feeds and email updates on pending activity. Look up members of Congress, search and browse bills and resolutions, find congressional voting records, or follow postings on the Govtrack blog.
  • Major Activity on All Legislation
    "This feed tracks all major activity on legislation, including newly introduced bills and resolutions, votes on bills and resolutions, enacted bills, and other such events."
  • Newly Introduced Bills
    A feed just for newly introduced bills and resolutions.
  • Enacted Laws
    A feed just for bills that are enacted as law
  • With more
    Other customized feeds are available for committees, subject terms, Members of Congress, and voting records on individual bills.

Information Consultant

 

Get Answers

Find an Article

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip