Your Librarian
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
Get Answers
Looking for a Specific Article?
To locate a specific article, go to the Hoya Search box at the Library's homepage and enter or copy in the article's title using quotation marks around the title. The article should be one of the top results. If you cannot locate it, you can contact your librarian or request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to be delivered virtually.
Article Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window1973- .
Citations with non-evaluative abstracts to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, speech, and communication. Provides enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International and bibliographic citations for book reviews. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and in psycholinguistics. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Database of Arabic Literature in Western ResearchThe Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research....provides easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West. Based at Oxford University, England.
- Arabic Citation Index This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information and citations to scholarly articles from expertly curated Arabic journals, from Web of Science. ARCI is powered by Web of Science and funded by the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB). Search in Arabic or English.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowInternational classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense. From ProQuest.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window1980s- (varies). Provides indexing, abstracting, and many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general-interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics and sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Important Journals and Other Publications
- Journal of Arabic LiteratureThe leading journal specializing in the study of Arabic literature, ranging from the pre-Islamic period to the present.
- Alif: Journal of Comparative PoeticsAlif is an annual bilingual (occasionally trilingual) peer-reviewed journal published by the Department of English and Comparative Literature of the American University in Cairo. Its first issue appeared in 1981, and it has been appearing continuously since.
- Middle Eastern LiteraturesMiddle Eastern Literatures is a forum for the academic study of all Middle Eastern Literatures from Late Antiquity until the present.
- al-ʹArabiyya: Journal of the American Association of Teachers of Arabic = al-ʹArabīyah: majallat Rābiṭat Asātidhat al-Lughah al-ʹArabīyahIncludes scholarly articles and reviews that advance the study, research, and teaching of Arabic language, linguistics, literature, and pedagogy.
- Zeitschrift für arabische Linguistik = Journal of Arabic linguistics = Journal de linguistique arabeAn international peer-reviewed scholarly journal, with a special focus on the field of Arabic linguistics.
- Banipal Magazine of Modern Arab LiteratureBanipal Magazine showcases contemporary Arab authors in English translation, from wherever they are writing and publishing.
- ArabLitArabLit (arablit), or Arabic Literature (in Translation), was founded by M Lynx Qualey in 2009, and has developed into a source of daily news and views on Arab and Arabic literature and translation.
- JadaliyyaJadaliyya is an independent ezine produced by the Arab Studies Institute (www.ArabStudiesInstitute.org)
Additional journals on Arabic language, linguistics, and literature may be found under the following subject headings.
