Guides: Finance and Investment: Financial Statements & SEC

SEC Filings

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.

Q-File (pre-EDGAR) Microfiche
Q-File is a microfiche set with selective Pre-EDGAR SEC filings (10-K, 10-Q, and AR). Years covered 1978-1997. Also known as SEC File
Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval (EDGAR)

SEC Document Types

SEC Forms
The Securities and Exchange Commission requires publicly traded companies to submit certain information, which is referred to by form. For example 1933 forms refer to S-1 (IPOs), and 1934 refer to regular recurring forms like the 10-k (annual financial statements)

Ratios: U.S. Financial Statements by Industry

Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations
Quarterly income statements and balance sheets, as well as financial and operating ratios for approximately 40 industries grouped by amount of total assets.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.

Standard & Poor's Industry Survey
The Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
For industry covered click on the blue icon beside the title.
more...less...
Advertising, Aerospace & Defense, Agribusiness, Airlines, Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, Apparel & Footwear: Retailers & Brands, Autos & Auto Parts, Banking, Biotechnology, Broadcasting, Cable & Satellite, Chemicals, Chemicals: Specialty, Communications Equipment, Computers: Commercial Services, Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet, Computers: Hardware,
Computers: Networking, Computers: Software, Computers: Storage & Peripherals, Electric Utilities, Environmental & Waste Management, Financial Services: Diversified, Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages, Healthcare: Facilities, Healthcare: Managed Care, Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals, Healthcare: Products & Supplies, Heavy Equipment & Trucks, Homebuilding, Household Durables, Household Nondurables, Industrial Machinery, Insurance: Life & Health, Insurance: Property-Casualty, Investment Services,
Lodging & Gaming, Metals: Industrial, Metals: Precious, Movies & Home Entertainment, Natural Gas: Distribution, Oil & Gas: Equipment & Services, Oil & Gas: Production & Marketing, Paper & Forest Products, Publishing & Advertising, Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS), Restaurants, Retailing: General, Retailing: Specialty, Savings & Loans, Semiconductor Equipment, Semiconductors, Supermarkets & Drugstores, Telecommunications: Wireless, Telecommunications: Wireline, and Transportation: Commercial industries.

Finance and Investment

Related Guides

Investor Relations

SEC Filings

SEC Document Types

More on Financial Statements

Ratios: U.S. Financial Statements by Industry