These are basic resources for doing research on public policy topics. Spring 2013.
These guides list more resources:
- Google Scholar
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
- Academic Search Premier
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Research Library
Provides indexing, abstracting, and many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general-interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics and sources.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to the full text of thousands of national and international magazines, newspapers, wire services, TV and radio broadcast transcripts, web publications, and blogs. Search by General, News, Legal, Business, or People.
- Washington Post
Full text coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.
Documents, reports, policy papers, and statistics.
- American FactFinder
Data from 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
- DC Data Catalog
- GPO Access
Gateway site to the U.S. federal government. Search for publications, documents, or information by branch of government. The Catalog of Government Publications
is a general catalog of many government publications, with links to full-text digitized versions. The Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
has links to digital versions of major documents.
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
- ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.