Guides: Art, Art History & Museum Studies: Start your Research

Online Library Services & Resources

Welcome! This guide highlights the major resources the library provides for your research in art, art history, and museum studies. Use the menu at the left to navigate.

You will be able to access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and password. Follow the instructions on the Off Campus Access page for details.

Georgetown University Library Covid-19 Updates & Resources gives the latest information about the library.

If you have questions or would like to schedule a Zoom research consultation, please contact me at husseys@georgetown.edu. I look forward to working with you!

Get Started

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 8 concurrent users.
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Images may be viewed live in ARTstor or offline in ARTstor's downloadable image viewer.