or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Electronic Resources Help: Common E-Resources Problems

Having trouble using an electronic database, journal or ebook? Check here for some quick and easy solutions to common electronic resources access problems.

Common E-Resources Problems

Common Electronic Resources Access Problems

1. I cannot get into a database....

Possible solutions: Some of our database licenses are restricted to a limited number of simultaneous, or concurrent, users. When this is the case, we try to notify users by including a note like "limited to 10 concurrent users" in LibGuides and GEORGE records. Also, a few of our databases require a username and password to use them. We try to include notes in these instances also, such as "Username and password required for access. Please inquire with library staff." Check for these types of notes before giving up on trying to access the database. If you do not see a note like this in a LibGuide or GEORGE record, please report the problem to eresources@georgetown.edu or use our Report a Problem Form

 

2. When I try to access an electronic resource, I am taken to a page completely unrelated to the resource, or the user interface is "distorted" in some way...

Possible solutions: Clear your browser cache. Steps on how to clear cache can be found on the Browser Help tab. After you clear the cache, close and reopen the browser. Try to access the resource again. Another option is to try opening the resource in a different browser.


3. Every time I use an Ebook through Ebsco and leave it idle for a long time, it stops me from using it saying "this eBook is in use"...

Solution: When EBSCOhost ebooks remain idle for 30 minutes, the ebook system will then go through the return process, which may take up to 15 minutes. To avoid this problem, download the book to your computer or portable device for uninterrupted reading. 


4. I get the message "File missing: docs/suspend.htm" when trying to use databases...

Solution: The above error message is displayed when a user downloads excessive amounts of material in a short space of time from our electronic databases or journals. There are restrictions in our proxy server to prevent excessive downloading by robots or other spoof mechanisms.  These restrictions are necessary because of our licence agreement with vendors. When you see this message, it means you have exceeded downloading the allowed 300MB in 30 minute server policy restriction (remember most PDFs in our electronic databases or journals are about 2-4 MB each, which rougly equates to 75 articles being downloaded in a 30 minute period). If you wait for about 15 minutes, your connection should be restored.

 

5. I can't find an answer to my question on this page...

Solution: Please use our Report a Problem Form.

Subject Guide

Electronic Resources

Chat with e-Resources