Guides: Energy: Statistics

Energy Statistics

Annual Energy Outlook
EIA energy projections and discussions of legislative and regulative issues. (Free Resource)
BP Statistical Reviews
BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.
Carbon Footprint of Nations
Carbon footprint data for countries around the world. A new site, will get more complete with time.
Energy and Utilities Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides data on fuel resources, energy production and consumption, electric and solar energy, hydroelectric power, nuclear power, and the electric and gas utility industries. (Free Resource)

Energy Information Administration This link opens in a new window
The EIA provides current and historical energy data, forecasts and analyses. Includes the Monthly and Annual Energy Review. (Free Resource)

Energy Information Agency (EIA) State Energy Profiles
Includes current and historic data on primary energy consumption, petroleum consumption, consumption by sector, residential use, commercial use, industrial use, transportation use, electric utility use, prices, expenditures, and state rankings of consumption, prices, and expenditures. Each selection presents the user with summary level information. More detailed information is available from pull-down menus.
Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (World Bank)
The Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (ESMAP) is a global knowledge and technical assistance program administered by the World Bank. Its mission is to assist low- and middle-income countries to increase know-how and institutional capacity to achieve environmentally sustainable solutions for poverty reduction and economic growth.
Europe's Energy Portal
Provides a wide range of energy data for EU countries.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of historical data from the earliest times to the present. Tables cover specific indicators such as employment, income, saving, poverty, construction, housing, consumer price indexes, and others.
Includes most of the statistical series from the Statistical Abstract of the United States. The electronic version is based on the five volume print edition of 2006 -- copy in Lau Ref: HA202.H57

International Energy Agency
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) Data
Provides dynamic maps and GIS data of renewable energy resources. (Free Resource)
National Science Foundation - Science Statistics
NationMaster.com
Generate maps, graphs, charts, and country rankings for a broad range of numerical data extracted from a variety of authoritative sources, including U.S. and U.N. statistical publications.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

Official Energy Statistics from the U. S. Government: Monthly Energy Review
UNdata Energy Statistics Database
Download energy data from statistical agencies throughout the United Nations. Series on energy cover topics such as consumption, exports, imports, and production.

BP Statistical Review of World Energy (BP Global)
This annual publication provides current and historical data (1965-present) on world energy markets. (Free Resource)
Europe's Energy Portal (European Union)
Provides a wide range of energy data for EU countries. (Free Resource)
Renewables Information
Paris, France : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development/International Energy Agency, c2002-
Online; and
LAU Stacks: TJ807.9 .O33 R46

IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Freely available as of Jan 2020.

OECD Statistics
OECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.

UNdata This link opens in a new window
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)