Guides: Human Resource Management: Scholarly Articles & Reports

Getting Started

HR Articles
HR Reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of management and organizations.
To search only the Management & Organization Studies collection, go to "Search Within," select "Search from a list of disciplines" and select "Management & Organization Studies" from the 'Social Sciences & Humanities" section.
These peer-reviewed journals cover such subjects as organizational behavior, organizational development, strategic management, organizational theory, industrial psychology, human resource (HR) management, business ethics, corporate social responsibility (CRS), environmental management, leadership, group processes, organizational communication, management learning, management education, training, industrial relations (IR), labor economics, international & cooperative management, entrepreneurship, small business management, E-commerce, non-profit management, compensation & benefits, environmental management, service organizations, hospitality, travel, tourism, marketing, macromarketing, social marketing, marketing education, marketing theory, service marketing, sociology of work, business & government relations, critical theory, simulation, action research, research design, and research methodologies.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext This link opens in a new window
This source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.

BELL: Business Ethics LInks LIbrary
A starting point for research in corporate ethics and social responsibility. The database provides access to codes of ethics for U.S. companies, trade and professional associations, ethics sites of college and university business programs, industry information resources, and company promotion of social responsibility.
more...less...
Covers such topics as arts assistance, environmental cleanup, charitable giving and community programming. Use the suggested keyword list for a more effective search.

Social Science Databases

PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles from over 180 social science journals. Disciplines covered include: anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Suggested Search Terms in HR

Employee Motivation
Teams in the Workplace
Organizational Behavior
Corporate Culture
Leadership
Human Capital
Diversity in the Workplace
International Business Enterprises - Personnel Management
Mentoring in Business

Tips for Finding Articles

WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION

To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).

If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD

To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.

Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.