Guides: Philosophy and Ethics: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the Philosophy & Ethics research guide. This guide is intended to highlight major resources that Georgetown provides to support research and teaching in philosophy and ethics. Use the menu to the left to view specific types of resources.

If you have any questions or need assistance with your research, please e-mail melissa.jones@georgetown.edu.

Getting Started

The following resources are recommended for starting your philosophy and ethics research. Additional resources are available through the left-hand menu.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts for books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. For book reviews prior to 1985, use the print version.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 60,000 registered users.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of scholarship in philosophy and related topics. From Oxford University Press.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This scholarly, full-text encyclopedia is being developed by Stanford University. High standards of quality and authority: sophisticated, easy-to-use interface. Brief definitions are followed by deep analysis. Aimed at undergraduates through professionals.