Skip to main content
Search Google Scholar
What does this box search?

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

China Studies: Internet

Web Portals

The following resources are freely available on the websites.

CEI Chinese Law and Regulation: Hosted by the State Information Center, a Chinese central government agency. It includes two major databases: the National Laws and Regulations Data Bank which covers Chinese laws and regulations covering from Oct. 1, 1949 to the end of 1997; and the New Laws and Regulations Online Searching. Also provides other useful information on Chinese law.
URL: http://www.ceilaw.com.cn/

China Economy: Covers Chinese economic news, business intelligence, statistics and government policies.
URL: http://ce.cei.gov.cn/

China Economic Information Network 中國經濟信息網: Basically a subscription service, but the economic news, is free.
URL: http://www.cei.gov.cn/

China Elections & Governance 中国选举与治理: provides resources on governance and election affairs and gives scholars worldwide the opportunity to study Chinese politics and offer reform measures.
URL: http://en.chinaelections.org/index.asp

China Internet Information Center 中国网: "China's official gateway to news and information," available in Chinese, English, and other languages.
URL: http://www.china.org.cn/english/index.htm

China Leadership Monitor: sponsored by the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, this site provides information on current trends in China's leadership politics and in its foreign and domestic policies, using methods of interpreting information in China's state-controlled media.
URL: http://www.hoover.org/publications/clm/pasttopics?browse=topic&c=y

China Military and Armed Forces: a portal on Chinese military power
URL: http://www.chinatoday.com/arm/

Chinese Military Power: Established by the Project on Defense Alternatives, the Commonwealth Institute, Cambridge, MA. It provides full-text online analysis and resources about Chinese military policy & capabilities. Also includes a bibliography of key readings and links to online databases and to leading area specialists and research sites.
URL: http://www.comw.org/cmp/

China Population Information中国人口信息网
URL: http://www.cpirc.org.cn/tjsj/tjsj.asp

China Radio International (Beijing) 中國廣播網: Website of Central Broadcasting, Beijing. In Chinese, English, and other languages. Includes text and recorded broadcasts.
URL: http://www.cnr.cn/

China Today: an information gateway on China
URL: http://www.chinatoday.com/

China Vitae (Biographical database for current leaders) 中國名人錄: Biographical information on current Chinese leaders.
URL: http://www.chinavitae.com/

Chinese Minority Ethnic Groups 中華民國少數民族簡介
URL: http://140.111.34.46/dict/htm/fulu/mintzu.htm

Congressional-Executive Commission on China: created by Congress in Oct. 2000 to monitor China's human rights and the development of the rul of law in China.
URL: http://www.cecc.gov/index.php

Country Profiles: A brief, summarized information on China's historical, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security, updated by Federal Research Division, Library of Congress.
URL: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/profiles/China.pdf

Development research center of the state council of P.R. China :

URL: http://www.drc.gov.cn/

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

: Search for China to get information on the land, people, economy, administration, and social conditions, cultural life, and history. Additional readings from books and journals, and best web sites will expand your research. World Data tool provides country snapshots, country comparisons, and ranked statistics.
URL: http://www.search.eb.com/

Government agencies of China: a list of Chinese government agencies
URL: http://www.chinatoday.com/gov/a.htm

Government Information Office, Republic of China (Taiwan): A website which lists the main government offices in Taiwan.

URL: http://www.gio.gov.tw/

Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China: This webpage list out the basic information about Hong Kong, from the form of government to the languages used.

URL: http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/

History of Chinese Ethnic Groups (中国民族关系历史简表)
URL: http://www.xys.org/xys/ebooks/others/history/ancient/minzuguanxi.html

History of Development of Chinese Population 中国历代人口变化略表
URL: http://www.xys.org/xys/ebooks/others/history/population.txt

Hong Kong Legal Information Institute: a free, independent, non-profit Internet facility providing the public with legal information relating to Hong Kong.
URL: http://www.hklii.org/

Internet Guide for Chinese Studies: A guide to scholarly resources on the Web, maintained by Sinological Institute, Leiden University.
URL: http://www.sino.uni-heidelberg.de/igcs/

Internet Chinese Legal Research Center: Created by Wei Luo. Provides links to Chinese legal resources on the Internet, legal research guides and other information related to Chinese legal research. The site covers China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong.
URL: http://ls.wustl.edu/Chinalaw/

Internet Guide for China Studies: Politics: Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library project.
URL: http://sun.sino.uni-heidelberg.de/igcs/igpol.htm

Mao's Quotations毛主席语录: Chinese text and English translation
URL: http://zhongwen.com/x/mao.htm

Political Resources on the Net - China: Listings of political sites related to China, with links to parties, organizations, governments, media, etc.
URL: http://www.agora.stm.it/politic/china.htm

State Information Center (China)
URL: http://www.sic.gov.cn/

Zhongguo fa yuan wang 中国法院网
URL: http://www.chinacourt.org/

Zhongguo wai jiao bu Ministry of Foreign Affairs (PRC) 中国外交部
URL: http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/

The Cyber Museum of the Anti-Rightist Campaign 反右博物馆
URL: http://www.observechina.net/data/editors/fanyou/0000.html

 

Online