Skip to Main Content

Women's Manuscript Collections

Women's archives and manuscripts collections at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections, Georgetown University Library, Washington, D.C.

In Diplomacy

Ernesta Drinker Barlow, undated

Collection List
Papers of diplomats' wives and daughters; and women diplomats.

Women Peacemakers
The Profiles in Peace Oral History Project shares the critical and personal insights from women and their allies on the frontlines of peace and security work globally - from the grassroots to the national and international arena.
more...less...
Developed by the Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace, and Security in partnership with Georgetown University Library's Digital Services Unit and the University Archives.

In Politics

Educators & Humanitarians

List
Includes women in education, humanitarian work, and medicine.

More Resources

Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
Home of the Foreign Affairs Oral History Program now hosted jointly with the Library of Congress.
Frontline Diplomacy
Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training.
more...less...
Transcripts of interviews with U.S. diplomats (post World War II era), especially at the ambassadorial level. 33 interviews are listed for women ambassadors.

Note

Includes women who were not directly employed in government but who were associated with -- and worked to influence -- government policies, especially relating to public service.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy