This is the "Home" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Book Reviews  

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.georgetown.edu/bookreviews Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Major Sources

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Provides citations to and excerpts from reviews of approximately 7,000 English-language nonfiction and fiction books each year in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences. Includes full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Excludes reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Covers book reviews in about 90 American, English, and Canadian periodicals, most of them general-interest magazines.
  • Choice Reviews Online
    Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
  • New York Review of Books
    Fulltext of the New York Review of Books from the first issue in 1963 to the present.

Other Sources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Limit search to "Book Review" under Document Type.
  • America: History & Life
    Primary index to research in American history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit search to "Book Review" under Document Type.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (1740 to 1940)
    Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and popular magazines. All typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts appear exactly as originally published. Allows searching by article type (e.g., letter, obituary, poetry, recipe, ad, editorial cartoon, review).
  • Historical Abstracts
    Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature) since 1984. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Limit search to "Book Review" under Document Type.
  • Poiesis
    Searchable access to 53 philosophy journals with emphasis on recent years. Full-text is available for issues of journals to which Lauinger has a print subscription.
  • Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
    Index to the most popular general-interest magazines and journals published in the United States. For 1890 to 1982, use the Readers' Guide Retrospective. Limit search to "Book Review" under Document Type.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Limit search to "Book Review" under Document Type.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip