Get Answers
Justice & Peace Studies Articles
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
From Topic Idea to Keyword Searching
Related Article Databases from Other Fields
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts for books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. For book reviews prior to 1985, use the print version.
- PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Many Subjects & Interdisciplinary
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowThe aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. This resource may be used to locate international scholarly output.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Note "Cited by" link below the text snippet.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
News Sources
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLimited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of 200 selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Marshall ProjectA non-profit news organization which focuses on the U.S. criminal justice system.
Reports & Gray Literature
"Gray Literature" is a term for writings published outside of traditional journal or book publishing or that are unpublished. Examples include government publications, doctoral dissertations or masters theses, working papers, white papers, reports, and sometimes conference papers. Below are some ways to locate these.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new window Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
- Open Grey System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey (gray) literature produced in Europe.
- World Development Reports This link opens in a new window This key World Bank publication offers recent statistics and narrative on topics relating to developing countries.1978-present available online; Latest print version is at the Reference Desk HC 59 .W6; earlier years (back to 1978) in stacks at HC 59. W6.
- GoogleSearch for reports from an organization by doing a combined site and filetype search. For example, "site:oecd.org filetype:pdf" will bring up .pdf reports from the OECD.
- OAIster This link opens in a new windowSearch for digitized archival resources, such as books, articles, text, multimedia, datasets, and theses. Part of WorldCat.
Review Articles
What are review articles? Why are they important?
"The amount of primary research is overwhelming. Review articles analyze and summarize the wide array of primary research published on a particular topic in a scholarly discipline. They filter relevant primary research—including articles, books, and data—in a specific area of inquiry to evaluate important ideas and trends. Review articles guide you to essential primary research."
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews are available for many disciplines, including the social sciences. Search across all of the Annual Reviews or just in a specific discipline.
Selected Journals
- Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning1994 - present. Publishes articles on research, theory, pedagogy in academic service-learning, campus-community partnerships in higher education, and engaged scholarship.
- Peace and Justice Studies JournalsCompiled by the Peace and Justice Studies Association.
Social Media
- Google--for blogsLimit searches to News, then select blogs.
