This is the "A" page of the "A to Z Database List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

A to Z Database List  

trial = database trial. Send trial feedback to eresources@georgetown.edu.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.georgetown.edu/a2z Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

A Print Page
  Search: 
 

A

  • ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
    ABELL is part of the Literature Online (LION) database and covers all aspects and periods of English-language literature, linguistics, folklore, drama, and cultural studies. Indexes literary criticism, book reviews, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published worldwide. Includes material in languages other than English and links to the full text of over 100 journals.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. Covers finance, management, marketing, accounting, business conditions, and other business topics.
  • Abstracts in Anthropology
    Abstracts from a variety of anthropology journals
  • Academic Search Premier
    Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
  • Access World News
    The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources (mostly in translation). Paid ads are excluded.
  • Accessible Archives Complete
    A collection of American newspapers, magazines, and other primary source materials, mostly from the 19th century, but with some 18th century items. Newspapers and magazines include the Virginia Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette, The Liberator, Godey's Lady's Book, and a selection of African American newspapers. Books include a large collection of county histories, Civil War memoirs and regimental histories, and more.
  • AccessUN  
      
    This database indexes United Nations documents and publications from the six main bodies of the United Nations. Of particular interest to researchers are treaties in the UN Treaty Series, citations to UN resolutions, Masthead documents (formerly referred to as mimeographed documents), Official Records, limited and restricted documents, and documents emanating from sessional and standing committees, functional commissions, conferences, and regional bodies.
  • Accounting and Tax  
      
    Indexes scholarly and trade publications, books, annuals, and newspapers in the fields of domestic and foreign accounting and taxation. Provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information.
  • ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams
    Contains over 24,800 diagrams with commentaries for non-organic systems, including those published in all 21 hard-copy volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program. The diagrams are graphical representations of regions of distinct chemical and structural behavior of materials' thermodynamic equilibrium. Users can search and view diagrams and commentaries, and manipulate the diagrams on screen. Produced by the American Ceramics Society (ACerS) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to support growth and progress in the ceramics industry. Updated quarterly.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book
  • ACM Digital Library
    Provides access to citations and full-text content of books, journal articles, reports, dissertations, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
  • ACS Publications
    A division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides Web access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. Includes online access to the ACS Style Guide.
  • Acta Sanctorum
    Electronic transcript of a collection of Latin documents examining the lives of the saints, organized by each saint's feast day. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, indices, and references to Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL).
  • Ad$pender  
      
    Password Required: Ask at the reference desk or email us from your Georgetown e-mail account for login information.
    Ad$pender provides advertising expenditure data for political campaigns, over 100,000 brands, and product categories. The 18 media formats include cable, internet, network TV (network, spot and syndicated), broadcast radio (network and national spot radio), outdoor advertising, major national newspapers and hundreds of business-to-business and consumer magazines.
  • Adforum
    Provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media: TV, radio, cinema, Internet, print and outdoor ad campaigns. Also includes over 18,000 advertising agency sources, news and other information related to the advertising industry. Users can search for ads by keyword, media type, product, brand name, business sector, agency, country, celebrity or award.
  • African American Biographical Database (AABD)
    A compilation of the biographies of thousands of African Americans. Contains extended narratives of both the famous and the everyday person, including African-American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, and factory workers. Culled from biographical dictionaries, obituary files, slave narrative collections, and Internet sites.
  • African American Music Reference  
      
    Chronicles the history of African-American music through 1970, offering electronic access to coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, early slave spirituals, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
  • African American Song
    See American Song.
  • African Journals Online
    African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation based in South Africa.
  • African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
  • AGRICOLA
    Indexes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. Covers agriculture, food science, human nutrition, life sciences, and natural resources.
  • Agriculture Census
    See entry for Census of Agriculture for holdings and locations.
  • AIDA: articoli italiani di periodici accademici
    The Bibliography 'Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA)' contains journal articles covering the humanities and social sciences.
  • AIDSinfo
    AIDSinfo is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and treatment. It is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV.
  • AIP Journals
    The journals of the American Institute of Physics.
  • Air University Index to Military Periodicals
  • Airiti ART database
    Established in 2002, Airiti World Art Database consists of four major categories: Taiwan art, Mainland art, Western art and Children art with works by over 670 artists and 65000 images.
  • Al Manhal Database
    Provides online, full-text access to an extensive collection of recently published books, journals and dissertations in Arabic & English from the Arab world. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.
  • Al-Monitor: The Pulse of the Middle East
    Al-Monitor covers politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports, and includes news maker interviews, original commentary, videos, and photographs. It provides coverage that goes beyond the headlines to inform Western audiences who do not understand Arabic (or Turkish or Hebrew) of how events are unfolding in the Middle East through the eyes of its own journalists.
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Full-text database of 200 selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
  • Alternative Press Index
    Indexes and abstracts over 250 alternative, radical and left leaning journals, newspapers and magazines from the U.S. and abroad. Topics covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation and socialism.
  • Alternative Press Index Archive
    Indexes and abstracts over 250 alternative, radical and left leaning journals, newspapers and magazines from the U.S. and abroad. Topics covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation and socialism.
  • America's Historical Imprints
    Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
  • America: History & Life
    Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
    Citations to U.S. and Canadian publications on topics related to East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, including culture, history, economics, international relations, and literature. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
  • American Civil War Research Database
    This database includes information from individual soldiers' military and civilian experiences that can be used for statistical and analytical examinations of the Civil War.
  • American FactFinder  
      
    Data from 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
  • American Film Scripts Online
    The full text of film scripts, indexed and organized for searches by scene, director, producer, scriptwriter, actor, subject, historical event, and character (by name, race, sexual orientation, gender, and occupation).
  • American Periodicals Series Online (1740 to 1940)
    Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and popular magazines. All typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts appear exactly as originally published. Allows searching by article type (e.g., letter, obituary, poetry, recipe, ad, editorial cartoon, review).
  • American Song
    A history database with 50,000 tracks, allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more'. Now includes African American Song.
  • Americas Barometer
    AmericasBarometer is an effort by the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. The database contains country studies (reports and essays), questionnaires, and data sets which can be opened in any version of SPSS 13 or higher. Ask at the Reference Desk for user name and password.
  • AMS Journals
    Full-text of the journals: Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Electronic Research Announcements, Journal of the American Mathematical Society, Mathematics of Computation , Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, Representation Theory, Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet is partnering with the AMS journals program providing links to article reviews when they become available.
  • Analytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL)
    The Analytical Sciences Digital Library is a National Science Foundation-funded collection of 400-plus educational and technical analytical sciences links. Links are annotated, peer reviewed, and scholarly; content is free. Resources vary from simple informational web pages to e-texts, tutorials, videos, exercises, PowerPoint presentations, experiments, animations, and labs.
  • Angelica Image Library
    More than 90,000 textual descriptions and 8,000 digital images of thousands of art slides in the collection of the department of Art, Music and Theater. Database will eventually include other humanities-based images found in the University community (e.g., archaeology slides in the Classics department collection). Materials, text and image, are copyrighted.
  • Animal Behavior Abstracts
    Covers subjects such as migration, evolution, innate behavior, learning and memory, and behavioral ecology.
  • Annual Reviews
    Comprehensive and timely critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature for 33 disciplines in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited publications in the scientific literature.
  • AnthroSource
    Full Text of all American Anthropological Association's (AAA) journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA journals, newsletters and bulletins.
  • AP (Associated Press) Stylebook
    Limited to 10 concurrent users
    This guide, used by many news publications and websites, provides guidelines on spelling, grammar, punctuation and usage, with special sections on social media, reporting business and sports. Included is an updated guide to media law.
  • AP Images
    Online collection of photographs, sound bites, and graphics. Covers over 160 years of history, including over 1 million photos dating back to 1826, thousands of graphics, and audio files dating from the 1920's. News story images date from 1997. Intended for use in research papers, theses, reports, and PowerPoint presentations. Has simple keyword searching as well as complex searching such as concept, color or category.
  • APS Journals
    The journals of the American Physical Society: Physical Review (all sections), Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
  • Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: Middle East Online series, 1
    A collection of British policy papers, documents and marginalia from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Begins with early 20th century British interests in the Middle East, continues through the establishment of Israel and on to British diplomatic relations with Israel and the Arab States in the early 1970s.
  • Archive Finder  
      
    Archive Finder consists of ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland. It describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • Archives Direct
  • Archives of the Chinese Government
    This database includes archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. Contents include National Policies (2001- present), Regional Policies (2001- present), Speeches/Publications of Ministerial/Provincial Officers (2004- present), National/Provincial/Ministerial Government Annual Statements (1983- present), Foreign Minister's Spokesperson's Statements & Speeches (1997- present), and Foreign Minister's Press Conference (2001- present). With the National People’s Congress and the National Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference as its sources, the database provides official, authoritative research information on the Chinese government and other political issues in China.
    The database is updated monthly or in a real time manner.
  • Archives Unbound
    Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
  • Aristotle Bibliography
    Comprehensive coverage of citations to research conducted in the past century on Aristotle; includes information on over 45,000 articles, books, reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Search by title, author,keyword, or dates.
  • ARL Digital Publications (Association of Research Libraries)
    Includes access to ARL Annual Salary Surveys annual statistics, proceedings and more.
  • Armed Conflict Database
    Collection of data on recent armed conflict(international and internal) throughout the world. Includes information on terrorism, refugees, displaced persons, weapons use and flows, fatalities, costs and timelines. Users can generate custom reports and download data. Created by the International Institute for Stategic Studies (IISS).
  • Army Heritage Collections Online
    The Digital Documents portion accesses materials in the collections of the U.S. Army Military History Institute, including 6,000 Civil War photographs, transcripts from the Senior Officer Oral History Program, audio and motion picture footage to include material from the Army Pictorial Service, Signal Corps, U.S. Army training and doctrine films, and much more.
  • Art Full Text
    Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
  • Art Index Retrospective
    Covers a wide range of topics in art history, from advertising art, antiques, and archaeology to sculpture, television, and textiles. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
  • Artbibliographies Modern
    Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations and exhibition reviews. Covers the current art history literature of modern art, photography, and design. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late twentieth century. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.
  • ARTFL
    French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political, and scientific works from the 13th through the 20th centuries. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form. Includes Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848.
  • Article Reach
    This JOURNAL-ONLY catalog lists the journals and serials held by ten participating research libraries. Georgetown University patrons with valid GOCards may search this catalog and request articles not available in the Georgetown collections. For more information see the Article Reach FAQ.
  • ArtNet.com
    Features a collection of resources on art, presented by the ArtNet Worldwide Corporation. Includes categories such as art and antiques, artists, auctions, magazines, and books. Offers access to images. Contains a site search engine. The Price Database is limited to Georgetown University students, faculty, and staff only. Ask at the Reference Desk for user name and password.
  • Artprice.com
    Georgetown University students, faculty, and staff only. Ask at the Reference Desk for username and password. An art auction resource that has approximately 4 million records for auction sales since 1700. Covers the fine arts, including prices for paintings, prints, posters, drawings, miniatures, sculptures, installations, photographs, and tapestries. Also includes biographical information and artist signatures for artists from the 17th century to the present. International in scope.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  • ARTstor
    Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Images may be viewed live in ARTstor or offline in ARTstor's downloadable image viewer.
  • arXiv.org
    An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance
  • Asian Film Online
    Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts.
  • ASIS&T Digital Library (Association for Information Science & Technology)
    Consists of regularly published journals and annual publications from the American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIST), the premier organization for information science research. The titles included are: Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology (JASIST), Annual Review of Information Science and Technology (ARIST), Bulletin of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, and Proceedings of the ASIST Annual Meetings.
  • ATLA Religion Database
    Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.
  • ATLA Serials Online
    Full text collection of over 50 religion and theology journals. The collection's over 50,000 articles (and many more books reviews) address topics in the following fields: Archaeology, Bible, Ecumenism, Ethics, Missions, Pastoral Ministry, Philosophy, Religion, Society, and Theology.
  • Atomic Learning
    Offers tutorials on a variety of software, including Microsoft Office and the Adobe Creative Suite. Individual tutorials are brief, typically between 30 seconds and two minutes long, and target specific tasks and software features. Access is available in all Georgetown libraries (except law). For off-campus access, email gelardin@georgetown.edu.
  • Australasian Digital Theses Program
    Indexes theses produced at Australian and New Zealand universities. Includes access to 150,000 theses, with over 5,000 available full-text online. Provides links to home institutions for access to non-digitized theses.
  • Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APAFT)
    Index of Australian articles, conference papers, and books covering business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics, and social sciences. Includes some full text after 1994.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    This database indexes journal articles published worldwide from 1934 to the present on architectural design and history. Avery also covers real estate development, commercial buildings, city planning, urban design, environmental studies, historic preservation, landscape architecture, garden history, interior design, furniture and decorative arts, and archeology. Included are more than 13,000 obituary citations, thus providing biographical and professional information about architects.
  • L'Année philologique (APh)
    L'Année philologique on the Internet is the digital version of L'Année philologique, a database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the American Philological Association (APA). A list of journal title abbreviations used by the editors is available on the publisher's website.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip