Related Guides
- Marketing Research GuideUse the Marketing Research Guide for more resources
NAICS and Related Sources
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- Industry Statistics PortalCreated by the US Census Bureau, this database links you to industry reports related to NAICS industries selected.
- Industry-occupation matrix data, by industryUS Bureau of Labor Statistic's employment projections of occupations within an industry from 2012 to 2022
Business Information Consultant (BIC)
Jennifer Boettcher
Her/She
Contact:
202 687-7495 Website Skype Contact: gu.buslib
Office Hours: by appointment and every Mon-Fri on Chat
202 687-7495
Overviews
- S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowThe Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
- Investext Full from Mergent This link opens in a new windowInvestext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
- Producer Price IndexThe Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the "selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services."
- Nimlok's Upcoming Trade ShowsInternational directory of trade shows. Once you link into a trade show review exhibitors for competition and talks for trends and experts.
Market Research (Products) Reports
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- US Business Environment Profiles
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowUsers must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowformerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
