Was this German Model guide helpful?
About Western European Studies at Georgetown
PRIMARY DEPARTMENT SERVED:
The BMW Center for German and European Studies
The BMW Center provides an institutional foundation at Georgetown University for disciplinary and interdisciplinary research and teaching on modern Germany and Europe, with emphasis on cultural studies, economics, history, and political science. In its Master of Arts in German and European Studies program and joint graduate degree programs with other academic units of the university, the BMW Center educates future generations of transatlantic leaders. Through its event programming, partnership initiatives, and outreach activities, the BMW Center fosters a thorough understanding of Europe and a broad conception of US-European relations.
Suggested Reading
- Financial Times
Financial Times is published in the UK and is considered a global financial newspaper.
Choose NewsBank (Access World News) for daily browsing.
Choose ProQuest (ABI/Inform- Complete) for ease of use. - Financial Times Deutschland
a German-language financial newspaper published in Hamburg. It is independent of the Financial Times (London). - Eurointelligence archive
an "independent internet-based service for economic commentary and analysis of the euro area." The daily bulletin requires a subscription, but recent posts and links are available free in the archive. - Bruegel
"a European think tank working in the field of international economics. Established in 2005, Bruegel is independent and non-doctrinal. It seeks to contribute to European and global economic policy-making through open, fact-based and policy-relevant research, analysis and debate." (from publisher's website) - New York Times

- Economist
Published in the UK, the Economist is one of the oldest business magazines in the world and covers many subjects. Use EBSCO (Academic Search Premier) for ease of access--once in the website, you can search in Economist by clicking on the link in the upper right marked "Search within this publication." - Europa - The official website of the European Union
Europa website is a good starting point if you are looking for information and services provided by the EU. It contains basic information on how the EU works, the latest EU news and events, and links to EU information on the websites of EU institutions and agencies. - EUObserver
Published out of Belgium, the EUObserver is a webpublisher that declares itself editorially independent, open-minded and balanced; the trusted source of EU related news and information across the European Union; and Reaches over 60,000 individuals on a daily basis. - EUbusiness
Pubished out of the UK, EUbusiness is a webpublisher that provides daily-updated news and information about EU policy, legislation, economic data and opportunities to a fast-growing membership of over 65,000 business professionals, of which more than 25,000 receive the weekly email newsletter EUbusiness Week. - BUSINESSEUROPE
Headquartered in Brussels, BUSINESSEUROPE is the leading voice of business and industry in Europe. Through its 40 member federations, BUSINESSEUROPE represents 20 million companies from 34 countries. BUSINESSEUROPE represents and defends the interests of its Members vis-à-vis the European institutions to preserve and strengthen corporate competitiveness. BUSINESSEUROPE promotes the smooth functioning of labour markets. - The Parliament: Politics, Policy, and People
The Brussels-based theparliament.com is Dods' EU political news and information website, providing comprehensive real time news and analysis of the key issues and debates within the EU institutions.
Databases with European content
- AIDA: articoli italiani di periodici accademiciThe Bibliography 'Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA)' contains journal articles covering the humanities and social sciences.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
- FRANCISA multilingual, multidisciplinary database that covers journals, books, conference papers, and other materials in the humanities and social sciences. French language and literature is particularly strong.
- Revues.orgFull-text access (with embargo) to French social science and humanities journals published by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).
Business Information Consultant (BIC) |
Contact Info 202 687-7495 Office Hours: Mon & Tue 3-4 in Hariri 172 and Tue 5-7 in Lauinger Library Send Email |
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info European History Bibliographer & Head of Collection Development Lauinger Memorial Library 202-687-7616 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |





Loading...
